European Bioplastics elects new Board

Board to continue encouraging political support and to strengthen communication about bioplastics

On 16 June, the industry association European Bioplastics elected a new Board during the General Assembly. The Board will represent the association and its members for the coming two years. Andy Sweetman (Innovia Films) was confirmed as Chairman. Jens Hamprecht (BASF) and Mark Vergauwen (NatureWorks) are Vice-Chairmen.

At the beginning of his second term as Chairman of European Bioplastics Andy Sweetman says: “The awareness of bioplastics has risen immensely within the last year as bioplastics reach more and more consumer products. The Board will therefore continue to dedicate its expertise to encourage political support and to strengthen communication about bioplastics”.

Further members of the Board are: Rainer Barthel (Danone), Francesco Degli Innocenti (Novamont), Joeran Reske (Interseroh), and Harald Käb (narocon), who was designated treasurer.

With an annual growth rate of about 20 percent the biopolastics industry is developing dynamically in a number of application fields. Already today, bioplastic materials and products can be found in the packaging sector, in the toys and textile industry, in automotive or consumer electronic applications and in agriculture and horticulture.


European bioplastics, press release, 2011-06-21.


European Bioplastics e.V.